New term….

For the first time I feel like I have found my ‘niche’, and so, I have decided to continue my drawing project into the second semester. This will be the longest project that I have ever undertaken, due to the endless possibilities and ideas that drawing provides.

Before returning back to my practice I need to review the project as a whole and work out where the successes and failures lye, I then can take the successful elements and use them within my current work.

I realise that I need to be more aware of the work I am making, what makes a successful drawing? Why ? Is it about the gesture of the mark, or the mark itself ? Through thorough questioning I will gain a deeper understanding of what my practice is about. This questioning will be assisted through the reading of books which will raise my awareness to concepts within my practice. I have decided to read ‘Ways of Seeing’ by John Berger as a starting point, I will post my feedback of this book later in the term.

I want to make sure that I continue to push the potentials of drawings to the limit, through questioning of what is considered to be a drawing. Can drawing become sculptural ? What materials can more explored through drawing? Which is more successful in terms of scale, large drawings or small intimate ones? These are just a few questions that I can explore and discover the answers to in the next few months.

Leave a Reply

