Wall drawing

Pictures2

I wanted to escape the limitations of the paper by drawing directly on the wall, this would enable the drawing to be set free and open up the drawing to a conversation with the space of the studio. I started this drawing without knowing what it was going to look like, this was deliberate. I wanted to see how the drawing would grow along the wall with no predetermined idea of how it would look like, this was a risk as the drawing may not have turned out the way I wanted. Once again, I was pushing myself out of my comfort zone by doing something unplanned, a spontaneous approach to drawing. I decided to adapt my materials slightly to suit the size of this piece, I wanted larger gestures of loops so that the drawing had more of a physical presence within the room. A graphite stick enabled me to do this, the thicker lines ensured that the loops would be visible on the wall, whereas larger gestures done with a pencil would get lost on the wall. I really enjoyed the experience of drawing directly onto the wall, I felt it gave a real tactile feel to the drawing process – I was physically changing the studio space. I feel the drawing has more of a sense of energy on the wall, the formation has transformed into an organic growth, almost plant-like in an abstract sense. I feel the drawing experience could be improved by priming the wall properly rather than drawing directly onto the raw wall, this would involve priming with emulsion then sanding down the rough surface. It was the roughness of the wall that made drawing uncomfortable as the pencil/graphite stick fought against the rough surface. Furthermore this surface detracted away from the delicate lines, instead it pixelated it, there was no definition of the line. However, I feel the wall drawing has been really successful, it really opens up the drawing to the space of the studio.

IMG_0489

IMG_0492

IMG_0473

^^^ Here is the beginning of the drawing, it was hard to know what form it would take at this stage, it was all about building up the layers of loops and creating a sense of structure within a free flowing form.

 

IMG_0493

IMG_0494

IMG_0495

IMG_0496

IMG_0497

 

IMG_0475

IMG_0484

IMG_0485

IMG_0488

 

Leave a Reply

