Why drawing ?

I wanted to carry out extensive research into drawing this year so that I gain a deeper understanding of drawing, from its historic background in comparison to modern and contemporary practices to show its developmental journey as to how the use of drawing has changed through time. Moreover it will help me recognise the qualities in drawing and support my explanation as to why I have chosen to study drawing, additionally it will help identify the emotions I feel when drawing.

By just using pencil I feel it has direct implications with drawing, for instance I want it to be obvious that the finalised piece has been made through drawing with a pencil. It is a material that we as humans can all relate to and have previous experience of using, you don’t have to be an artist to use a pencil, this I feel allows the viewers to connect with my work. Drawing stems right back to caveman era, it has such a long standing history which I feel continues to grow in the 21st century. However, I still feel that drawing is considered to be a medium that is used at the early stages of a project as part of plans or preparatory supporting research. Pencil is still not considered as equal quality of its counterparts of painting and sculpture. I want to show that pencil can be used as the sole material of a final piece of art along side that of high status artefacts of painting and other art mediums. This is a major inspiration to my practice I want to push the limits and boundaries of drawing through large scale wall drawings.

Why drawing?

  • Simplicity
  • Primitive
  •  Historic
  • Mundane
  • Neutral
  • Organic
  • Accessibility
  • Spontaneous
  • Readability
  • Immediacy
  • Economic
  • Tonality
  • Texture
  • Expression
  • Reflective
  • Nostalgic
Leave a Reply

